Honours and Awards

2015 Recipients

Claude H. Murphy CME Award

Eliza-Chan-201Dr. Eliza Chan

This annual award is given to a member of the Manitoba College of Family Physicians who wishes to develop or improve his/her skills as a teacher and preceptor of medical trainees at either the undergraduate or postgraduate level.

Family Physician of the Year

BruneauThe Manitoba College of Family Physicians is pleased to announce that Dr Michel Bruneau of Lac du Bonnet is the recipient of the Manitoba Family Physician of the Year Award for 2015. The Family Physician of the Year award is presented to an outstanding Family Physician who embodies the principles of family medicine. Dr Bruneau is committed to providing exemplary patient care in the rural areas that he serves and is part of a collaborative team that orchestrates the community cancer care program in Pinawa. His compassion, knowledge and skill are emphasized by his colleagues as they highlight his work in the ER, looking after inpatients, making housecalls, sharing the call rota at the Pinawa Hospital and is the attending physician at the personal care home in Lac du Bonnet. His clinic colleague describes Mich as an exceptionally competent, exemplary physician, who is an inspiration to those he works with.

Gary Beazley Award

C.W. Wiebe GBAward
The Gary Beazley award was created to honour the vision of the Patient’s Medical Home. C.W. Wiebe exemplifies the many pillars of the PMH. Currently CWWMC has 30 family physicians, 6 surgical specialists, several extended practice nurses, a physician assistant, dietician(s), a shared mental health clinician, a diabetes nurse educator, and a respiratory therapist/educator. The clinic physicians are very involved in primary care as well as having multiple other duties at nearby Boundary Trails Health Centre, where they participate in the care of hospitalized patients, staffing the ER, intrapartum obstetrics, surgical assistance, anesthesia, chemotherapy, dialysis, and palliative care. All members of the clinic team aspire to provide the highest quality of care possible to patients of the community/clinic. The clinic was described as having a sense of collaboration that ‘radiates throughout the clinic’.

Awards of Excellence

ReynoldsDr Larry Reynolds is honoured for his strong commitment and ongoing contributions to Family Practice obstetrics in Manitoba. His career includes a strong academic component, being a Family Medicine preceptor for many years, as well as having served as the Chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Manitoba. He continues to have a strong dedication to teaching both in clinics at Women’s Hospital and at Northern Connections Medical Centre.






DillonDr Mike Dillon is honoured for his high principles, excellent clinical skills, and strong social conscience. He has worked at Klinic since 1994, and has worked at the Kivalliq Inuit Centre and Welcome Place. Dr Dillon maintains an inpatient practice at Victoria General Hospital, and in his “time off”, Mike will often work in the Emergency Room in Sioux Lookout. Mike has been an active community preceptor for the Department of Family Medicine, teaching many students and residents over the years.

Skip to content