Honours and Awards

2018 Recipients

Manitoba’s Family Physician of the Year

The Manitoba College of Family Physicians is pleased to announce that Dr. Scott Kish is the recipient of the Manitoba Family Physician of the Year Award for 2018. The Family Physician of the Year award is presented to an outstanding Family Physician who embodies the principles of family medicine.

Dr Scott Kish has practiced in Dauphin Manitoba for over 17 years. He began as a resident in the Parkland Training program who, with his family, chose to make Dauphin his home. First and foremost, Dr. Kish is recognized for the outstanding medical service he provides to the residents of Dauphin, including hospital, outpatient, obstetrical and end of life care.

Throughout his career, Dr Kish has been involved in teaching family medicine residents in the Parkland Residency Training program, serving as assistant director and ultimately unit director. He has also served as Chief of Staff at the Dauphin hospital. In these roles, he has provided leadership skills and mentorship to the physician and non-physician team members, providing guidance and empowering them to be the best teachers they can be. He is known for his gentle manner, great sense of humor and compassion.

As a member of the Dauphin community, Scott has given selflessly to many local events including serving as a football coach and assisting in the settlement of refugees in the city. He has also participated in missions overseas. As a person, Scott embodies a great many qualities. He is a leader, mentor, physician, friend, husband, father, and community member who is clearly passionate about family, values, family medicine, and his fellow human being.

Gary Beazley Patients Medical Home Award

The Manitoba College of Family Physicians is pleased to announce Northern Connections Medical Centre is the recipient of the Gary Beazley Patients Medical Home Award for 2018.
This award honors a clinic that embodies the pillars of the Primary Care Medical Home, including access to care, interprofessional teams, quality improvement, patient centered care and comprehensive services. Northern Connections Medical Clinic is this year’s recipient. In addition to being the home of the Northern and Remote stream of the Family Medicine Residency program, NCMC serves a population in the core area of Winnipeg and provides care to individuals from Northern Manitoba who are in Winnipeg temporarily for medical reasons, acting as a “satellite” medical home. The clinic provides care across the life cycle and functions as a team with strengths in mental health and addictions medicine, LGBTQ2 health, teen health, public health and indigenous health care. They have devoted resources to addressing specific health issues including the opiate problem, treatment resistant TB, chronic pain, and homelessness.

As a training site for residents who will provide care to residents of Northern Manitoba, NCMC is critical in building a network of committed health care providers geared to ensuring ready access to services for vulnerable communities.

Awards of Excellence

The Awards of Excellence are presented to family physicians who have made outstanding contributions to the discipline of Family Medicine.

Dr. Katharine Kearns Dr Kearns receives the Award of Excellence for her lead role in establishing the Winnipeg Breastfeeding Centre, a new initiative developed and staffed by family physicians with a special interest in promoting breastfeeding to provide support to mothers and babies experiencing challenges.

While the WRHA does have breast feeding clinics that are operational on certain days in certain parts of the city, this clinic has helped address the gap in lactation consultants. Referrals can be initiated by any health care professional and patients may also self refer. Assessments are covered by Manitoba Health.


Drs. Leah Koetting, Adrian Fung,and Rafiq Andani
These 3 doctors are nominated for their efforts to transform the delivery of health care to the community of Swan River. Over the course of a short 2 ½ years, they have stabilized the care of patients requiring dialysis and chemotherapy, have established an outreach program for harm reduction and have established the
first primary care clinic in Sapotaweyak Cree nation. They have negotiated with Manitoba Health and the regional health authority to develop an alternative payment plan which has created stability and sustainability of a comprehensive set of services for the community, and has resulted in the ability to attract and retain a team of health care providers. Their vision and collective effort has made a significant difference to the population of Swan River and its surrounding area.



This award is to be presented to a person / group / community who has supported or advocated for a family physician who is an International Medical Graduate as they integrate into life in Manitoba either professionally or personally.

Dr. Amin Mousavi
Dr. Amin Mousavi practices in Swan River. He is recognized for the assistance given to other IMG’s as they integrate professionally and personally into the life of their community. As an International Medical Graduate himself, he is aware of the challenges facing newcomers to Manitoba and has offered support and wise counsel.

Claude H. Murphy Award

This award is given to a member of the Manitoba College of Family Physicians who wishes to develop or improve his/her skills as a teacher and preceptor of medical trainees at either the undergraduate or postgraduate level.

Dr. Ian Alexander
The opportunity to attend the 2018 Family Medicine Forum by receiving this year’s Claude H. Murphy Award has been an excellent experience to grow as a teacher.
While at FMF, I had the opportunity to attend many sessions that improved my skills as a teacher. Some of these included, How to Teach Social Accountability, The Difficult Learner, and The Section of Teachers lunch. These sessions made me more aware of my strengths and weaknesses as a teacher, and provided me direction for continued self-improvement. I believe that this will be very helpful as I begin my role as Stream Lead for the new Rural Interlake-Eastern Family Medicine residency program through the University of Manitoba.
I would like to thank the Manitoba College of Family Physicians and Dr. Claude H. Murphy for the provision of this award and the exciting opportunity to grow as a physician and teacher.

Skip to content