Honours and Awards

Our Awards

Family Physician of the Year – Deadline : January 8, 2021

This award is normally granted annually to recognize an outstanding Manitoba family physician who embodies the four principles of family medicine:

  1. He or she is a skilled clinician
  2. His or her practice is community-based
  3. He or she acts as a resource to a defined practice population
  4. In his or her role, the relationship with the patient is central

The physician must have been in active family practice for a minimum of 15 years and have been a member of the College of Family Physicians of Canada for a minimum of 10 years.

The Awards Committee attempts to alternate rural with urban honorees.

Online nomination form

Awards of Excellence – Deadline : January 15, 2021

The Awards of Excellence recognize CFPC members who in the past 12 to 24 months have made an outstanding contribution in a specific area pertaining to one or more of the following areas: patient care, community service, hospital or health care institutions, College activities (National or Chapter), teaching, research, or other elements of the academic discipline of family medicine.

The nominee must be a CFPC member in good standing and the contribution being recognized must have occurred in the past one or two (1or 2) years.

Online nomination form

Dr Gary Beazley (Patient’s Medical Home) Award – Deadline: January 15, 2021

Dr. Beazley is a renowned family physician in Manitoba and a former Executive Director of the MCFP. Through out his long career, his practice embodied and exemplified many aspects of the Patient’s Medical Home. Dr. Beazley modelled comprehensiveness, continuity of care and advocated for interprofessional collaboration.

The Award will be granted to a family medicine practice that has developed and is committed to enhancing the principles of the Patient’s Medical Home. The practice can be of any size (from one physician to a much larger group practice).

Online nomination form

Claude H. Murphy Continuing Medical Education Award – Deadline : June 30, 2021  

This award is given to a member of the Manitoba College of Family Physicians who wishes to develop or improve his/her skills as a teacher and preceptor of medical trainees at either the undergraduate or postgraduate level. Special consideration is given to the applicant that has been in clinical practice for at least two years, practices in a group and is involved in the development of a new teaching practice. Preference is given to applicants with Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada.

Online nomination form

Skip to content