

A CHAPTER OF THE COLLEGE OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS OF CANADA UNE SECTION DU COLLÈGE DES MÉDECINS DE FAMILLE DU CANADA

MANITOBA COLLEGE OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS

Draft Minutes ANNUAL MEMBERS MEETING FRIDAY, APRIL 24, 2020 Zoom Meeting

In Attendance:

Dr. Ian Alexander, Chair Dr. Ganesan Abbu Dr. Jacky Anand Dr. Rafiq Andani Dr. Karen Appel Dr. Anèl Basson Dr. Avman Basta Dr. Roxanne Beaudette Dr. Jamie Boyd Dr. Tamara Buchel Dr. Alison Carleton Dr. Melissa Bulloch Dr. Louis Chuna Dr. Mark Collister Dr. Jared Davies Dr. Habtu Demsas Dr. Nichelle Desilets Dr. Jane Dueck Dr. Anne Durcan Dr. Mark Elkin Dr. Morag Fisher Dr. Theo Fourie Dr. Jose Francois Dr. Perry Gall Dr. Hanan Gerges Dr. Ian Goldstine

Dr. Steven Gravelle Dr. Kristin Harris Dr. Sabiha Haseeb Dr. Suzy Heibesh Dr. Michael Hochman Dr. Carol Holmes Dr. Laurie Ireland Dr. Azadeh Jahangiri Dr. Mary Jane Jamieson Dr. Andrew Jowett Dr. Alan Katz Dr. Clarissa Koh Dr. Yatish Kotecha Dr. Robert Kruk Dr. Francine Lemire Dr. Joanna Lynch Dr. Alec Macaulay Dr. Darren Martin Dr. Camisha Mayes Dr. Dawn-Lynn Mctaggart Dr. Pravin Mehta Dr. Shelley Mott Dr. Francis Newman

Dr. Praful Patel

Dr. Adashnee Pather

Dr. Kathleen Pickard Dr. Luzelle Pretorius Dr. Rajen Ramgoolam Dr. Kim Rosing Dr. Maurice Roy Dr. Nene Rush Dr. Richard Rusk Dr. Shirley Schipper Dr. Krishan Sethi Dr. Laura Sexton Dr. Alex Singer Dr. Jeff Sisler Dr. Wendy Smith Dr. Seye Soile Dr. Margaret Speer Dr. Cam Stacey Dr. Werner Van Jaarsveldt Dr. Gisele Viens Dr. William Warrian Dr. Catherine Wilkie Katrina Leong

Non-Members:

Lisa Goss, MCFP Exec. Dir. Karen Glass, Booke & Partners Kari MacKinnon, Staff Patricia Karacsony, Staff Lissa Managnaro, CFPC Staff Sarah Scott, CFPC Staff Tracy Lennartz E-Cloud Bookkeeping

1. CALL TO ORDER / ANNOUNCEMENTS

Ms. Lisa Goss, Executive Director, opened the Annual Members meeting with a Treaty Land Acknowledgment Statement. Instructions were given to the audience on voting, participation, and polls.

Dr. Ian Alexander, President, called the meeting to order at 12:33pm.

- a. Dr. Alexander confirmed that the meeting had quorum of 25+ voting members in attendance, as per the MCFP By-laws.
- b. Dr. Alexander asked if anyone in attendance had a conflict of interest pertaining to the proceedings of the meeting. None were declared.
- c. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: BE IT MOVED that the agenda of the 2020 Annual Members Meeting be

approved as presented. Moved: Dr. Tamara Buchel Seconded: Dr. José François

Abstentions: none Discussion: none

CARRIED

2. Dr. Ian Alexander WELCOMED MCFP PAST PRESIDENTS IN ATTENDANCE

Dr. Alexander acknowledged the Past Presidents and thanked them all for their work for the MCFP.

3. MOTION TO APPROVE THE 2018/2019 AMM MINUTES

MOTION: BE IT MOVED that the Minutes of the April 12, 2019 Annual Members Meeting be

approved as presented. Moved: Dr. Ayman Basta Seconded: Dr. Karen Appel

Abstentions: none Discussion: none

CARRIED

4. PRESENTATION OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, ENDING OCTOBER 31, 2019

Karen Glass from Booke & Partners presented the audited financial statements. The membership was provided an opportunity for questions, there were no questions from the membership.

The meeting was turned over to Dr. Joanna Lynch, MCFP Treasurer. Dr. Lynch presented the following motions:

MOTION: BE IT MOVED that the audited financial statements ending October 31, 2019 be

approved as presented.

Moved: Dr. Joanna Lynch
Seconded: Dr. Tamara Buchel

Abstentions: none Discussion: none

CARRIED

5. APPOINTMENT OF 2019/2020 AUDITORS FOR THE MCFP

MOTION: BE IT MOVED that Booke & Partners be appointed as the auditors for the MCFP

2019/2020 fiscal year. Moved: Dr. Joanna Lynch Seconded: Dr. Nene Rush

Abstentions: none Discussion: none

6. PRESIDENT'S REPORT, DR. IAN ALEXANDER

Dr. Alexander provided his report to the membership. He highlighted the exciting and innovative work done by family physicians across the province and his privilege of working for the membership with stakeholders across the healthcare system. He stressed the importance of family physicians during the COVID-19 pandemic. He acknowledged the hard work of the MCFP staff had done in pulling together the ASA in a virtual format and introduced the MCFP team. He introduced Ms. Lisa Goss to the membership as the new full time Executive Director. Dr. Alexander thanked his colleagues on the Board and especially Dr. Ainslie Mihalchuk, Past President.

7. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT, MS. LISA GOSS

Ms. Goss stated that her full report can be found in the Annual Report posted on the MCFP website. Ms. Goss did note that after 25 years in healthcare and a career long affiliation with family physicians, as a past presenter at the Annual Scientific Assembly, she feels that her position with the MCFP has been like coming home. She noted that it is regrettable that, due to COVID-19 restrictions, that there cannot be a Celebration of Family Medicine including our award winners, but the staff is excited to find some way to show family physicians appreciation on May 19 – Family Doctor Day. She also noted that she looks forward to the day when the restrictions have lifted, and we can all come together.

8. CFPC PRESIDIENT, DR. SHIRLEY SCHIPPER | CFPC CEO, DR. FRANICE LEMIRE

Dr. Schipper and Dr. Lemire provided their greetings to the Annual Members Meeting and provided updates on what the CFPC is working on nationally. Dr. Lemire noted the many Manitobans that sit on National Committees for the CFPC and commended our spirit of giving and volunteering.

9. NEW BUSINESS FROM THE FLOOR

Dr. Alexander asked the membership if there was any new business that they would like to bring forward for discussion. No new business was identified.

REPORT FROM THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE, DR. AINSLIE MIHALCHUK

Dr. Mihalchuk presented the proposed slate of officers for the MCFP Board. She asked the membership three times if there were any nominations or questions from the floor. Hearing none, she made the following motion.

MOTION: BE IT MOVED that the slate of officers as presented be accepted by the members of the Manitoba College of Family Physicians and here after comprise the Board of the MCFP up and until the next Annual Members Meeting.

Moved: Dr. Ainslie Mihalchuk Seconded: Dr. Perry Gall

Abstentions: none Discussion: none

CARRIED

Dr. Ainslie Mihalchuk invited the membership to join her in celebrating the 2020/2021 Board of Directors and slate of officers for the Manitoba College of Family Physicians.

OFFICERS

Dr. Ian Alexander – President (v)
Dr. Joanna Lynch – President-Elect (v)
Dr. Ganesan Abbu – Secretary- Treasurer (v)

DIRECTORS AT LARGE

Dr. Karen Appel – Urban (v)
Dr. Theo Fourie – Rural (v)
Dr. Ashley Bhullar / Dr. Steven Gravelle
FFYP Co-Chairs (v)
Dr. Alexei Berdnikov / Dr. Mindy Eklove
Resident Reps (v)
Katrina Leong – FMIG (v)

10. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Dr. Alexander acknowledged the passing of two of Manitoba's pioneers of family medicine, Dr. Claude Murphy and Dr. Gary Beazley. A memoriam was presented of their achievements.

11. CELEBRATION OF MCFP AWARD WINNERS

Dr. Alexander hosted a PowerPoint presentation for the MCFP Award Winners this year and stated that, although we cannot celebrate with them in person, the MCFP is proud of their individual achievements.

Family Physician of the Year – Dr. Wendy Smith
CFPC Awards of Excellence – Dr. Michael Hochman and Dr. Laurie Ireland
IMG Mentor Award – Dr. Manish Garg
Dr. Gary Beazley Patients Medical Home Award – Kingsbury Family Medical Centre

12. ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Alexander adjourned the meeting at 1:20 pm.