2024 Award Nominations

Award nominations are open for 2024 and will close on January 30, 2024. All submissions can be sent to info@mcfp.mb.ca. Incomplete submissions will not be accepted.


Family Physician of the Year Award

This award is granted annually to recognize an outstanding Manitoba family physician who
embodies the four principles of family medicine.

The Award will be granted to an active member in family practice for a minimum of 15 years and
a member of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) for a minimum of 10 years.

Nominations and eligibility are based on the 4 principles of family medicine:

  • The nominee is a skilled physician,
  • The nominee is community based,
  • The nominee is a resource to a practice population,
  • The nominee’s relationship with patient is central to their role.

Read more about the award guidelines and criteria.

Family Physician of the Year Nominating Form

Include a current abbreviated CV form and all related materials.


Awards of Excellence

The MCFP wishes to empower the Chapters to recognize their members, and in turn, the
MCFP’s members who have made an outstanding contribution in the past 12 to 24 months to the
discipline of family medicine.

The awards were created as a way for both the Provincial and National Colleges to recognize
family physicians who are worthy and recognized through nomination at the Provincial Chapter
level. The Awards of Excellence recognizes members who, in the past 12 to 24 months, have
made outstanding contributions to one or more of the following:

  • patient care;
  • community service;
  • hospital or health care institutions;
  • College activities (National and Chapter); and
  • teaching, research, or other elements of the discipline of family medicine


  • nominee must be a member in good
  • nominations can be from members or
    the public;
  • physician practice groups and family
    medicine residents are eligible;
  • the runners-up to Family Physician of the Year can be considered;
  • members can be re-nominated in subsequent years for new outstanding achievements;
  • the CFPC will acknowledge provincial recipients at the Family Medicine Forum, on the
    website and publish the names in the national Family Medicine journal (Canadian Family
    Physician); and
  • up to 2 Awards of Excellence can be supported by the Manitoba Chapter.

Read more about the Awards of Excellence criteria.

Awards of Excellence Nominating Form

Include a current abbreviated CV Form and all related materials.


Dr. Gary Beazley Patient’s Medical Home Award

The Manitoba College of Family Physicians has created the Dr. Gary Beazley (Patient’s
Medical Home) Award, recognizing (the impact of) an outstanding leader of Family
Medicine. Dr. Beazley was a renowned Family Physician in Manitoba who throughout his
long career, embodied, exemplified, and championed many aspects of the Patient’s
Medical Home. He was passionate about teaching and has influenced the career choices
of innumerable medical students, helping them select a satisfying career in Family
Medicine. He modeled comprehensiveness and continuity of care and was a powerful and
outspoken advocate of interprofessional collaboration. This Award (first awarded in 2014)
will be granted annually to the Family Physician or Physician Practice Group that best
embodies the principles of ‘The Patient’s Medical Home.’

The Patient’s Medical Home (PMH) is a family practice defined by its patients as the place
that they feel most comfortable (most at ‘home’) to present and discuss their personal and
family health and medical concerns. Patients can be confident that their health care needs
will be met through their Medical Home and know that their Family Physician is the “go to
person” for their health care needs.

Read more about the Dr. Gary Beazley Patient’s Medical Home Award Criteria

Dr. Gary Beazley Patient’s Medical Home Award Nominating Form


If you would prefer a Word document copy of the nomination forms, please email info@mcfp.mb.ca.

Nominate today!